Entry Requirements

    Total Training Time

    minimum 5 years (full-time)

    • 12 months (full-time) Stage 1 Basic level adult psychiatry (includes 6 months in an acute setting)
    • 24 months (full-time) Stage 2 Proficient level rotations
    • 24 months (full-time) Stage 3 Advanced level rotations

    How to apply for a specialist training position in Psychiatry

    Queensland Health Directors of Hospital and Health Services in conjunction with the Queensland Branch Training Committee (QBTC) and Office of Postgraduate Training in Psychiatry (PGT) oversee Psychiatry training rotation placements into Queensland facilities, and successful completion of the program allows trainees eligibility to become Fellows of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists RANZCP. Applicants must complete the Preference form to be submitted to Postgraduate Training in Psychiatry (PGT) at the same time as completing and submitting an online RMO application through the Resident Medical Officer (RMO) campaign.

    Get your guide to help map your Psychiatry training pathway in northern Queensland:


    Find out more about Queensland-specific workforce demographics and specialty information.

    If you would like to get more information on training in Psychiatry, please contact us.

    Return To List

    Stay in the loop

    Join our mailing list today and keep up to date with our latest news & events!