Entry Requirements

    • General medical registration
    • Completion of PGY2
    • Citizen of Australia or New Zealand or a permanent resident of Australia
    • Registered or eligible for registration with Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA)
    • Refer to the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists for further information on selection and/or eligibility

    Total Training Time

    5 years (full-time)

    • 6 months (full-time) introductory training
    • 18 months (full-time) basic training
    • 24 months (full-time) advanced training
    • 12 months (full-time) provisional fellowship training

    How to apply for a specialist training position in Anaesthetics

    Queensland Anaesthetic Rotational Training Scheme (QARTS) is the approved Rotational Training Program accredited by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA). QARTS represents all Queensland Hospital and Health Services with rotating anaesthetic trainees, plus Lismore Base, Tweed Hospital and Royal Darwin Hospitals. Apply online through the Resident Medical Officer (RMO) campaign, selecting YES to QARTS question. QARTS is divided into groups of rotations: Southern, Gold Coast, Central & Northern.

    Application to ANZCA is also required. Please refer to ANZCA's Application and registration website

    Get your guide to help map your Anaesthetics training pathway in northern Queensland:


    Find out more about Queensland-specific workforce demographics and specialty information.

    If you would like to get more information on training in Anaesthetics, please contact us.

    Return To List

    Stay in the loop

    Join our mailing list today and keep up to date with our latest news & events!